Sabudana Kichidi

Sabudana Kichidi

Published on
Authors

Hey there! Today I want to talk about one of my all-time favorite dishes - Sabudana Kichidi. If you’ve never tried it, you’re in for a treat. This simple yet delicious meal holds a special place in my heart, and I’m excited to share it with you.

But before I get carried away talking about how much I love eating it, let me tell you how to make this wonderful dish.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 cup sabudana (tapioca pearls)
  • 1/2 cup roasted peanuts, coarsely ground
  • 2 medium potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 2-3 green chilies, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon cumin seeds
  • 8-10 curry leaves
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • Salt to taste
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • Fresh coriander leaves for garnish

Now, let’s get cooking:

  1. First, wash the sabudana thoroughly and soak it in water for about 4-5 hours or overnight. The pearls should be soft when you press them between your fingers.

  2. Drain the water completely and keep the sabudana aside.

  3. Heat oil in a pan. Add cumin seeds and let them splutter.

  4. Add curry leaves and green chilies. Sauté for a minute.

  5. Add the diced potatoes and cook until they’re soft and golden.

  6. Now, add the soaked sabudana and ground peanuts. Mix well.

  7. Sprinkle some salt and cook on low heat for 5-7 minutes, stirring occasionally.

  8. Once the sabudana turns translucent, turn off the heat.

  9. Squeeze in some lemon juice and garnish with fresh coriander leaves.

And there you have it - a perfect bowl of Sabudana Kiichidi!

This is the video that I learned how to cook this dish from Ranveer Brar.

Growing up in Vizag, a coastal city in South India, I’ve always loved the monsoon season. There’s something magical about the sound of rain pattering on the roof and the cool breeze that comes with it. And what better way to enjoy this weather than with a steaming bowl of Sabudana Kichidi? My mom makes the best Sabudana Kichidi I’ve ever tasted. The combination of the soft, chewy sabudana with crunchy peanuts and the aroma of curry leaves is simply irresistible.

Now, imagine this scenario: It’s a rainy evening in Vizag. The sky is dark, and you can hear the waves crashing on the beach nearby. You’re sitting by the window, watching the rain fall, with a warm bowl of Sabudana Kichidi in your hands. As you take the first bite, you feel the softness of the sabudana, the crunch of peanuts, and the subtle heat from the green chilies. The aroma of curry leaves fills the air, mixing with the earthy smell of rain.

To make it even better, I like to have my kichidi with some homemade groundnut chutney. The combination is simply out of this world! The creamy, spicy chutney perfectly complements the mild flavors of the kichidi.

As I sit there, enjoying my meal and the weather, I can’t help but feel a sense of comfort and nostalgia. It reminds me of all those rainy days spent at home with family, sharing stories over steaming bowls of kichidi. There’s something about this simple dish that just warms the soul.

I think that’s the beauty of food - it’s not just about taste. It’s about memories, emotions, and experiences. Sabudana Kichidi, for me, is more than just a meal. It’s a reminder of home, of rainy days, of my mom’s cooking, and of the simple joys in life.

So, the next time it rains, why not try making some Sabudana Kichidi? Trust me, it’s the perfect companion for a cozy day in. And who knows? Maybe it’ll become your rainy day tradition too!

Remember, the key to great Sabudana Kichidi is in soaking the pearls properly and cooking them just right. It might take a couple of tries to get it perfect, but don’t give up. Once you nail it, you’ll have a go-to comfort food for life!

Well, I think I’ve talked enough about my love for Sabudana Kichidi. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I think I hear raindrops on my window. Time to head to the kitchen and whip up a batch of kichidi!

Cheers,

Sim

Loading Utterances Discussion

© 2024 Ram Simran Garimella   •   RSS Feed